FRENCH     ... a site about the french language  
Home Verbs Nouns Adjectives Adverbs Figures etc. Pronunciation Phrases About France Links
About France
France (French: La France, officially: The French Republic, La République Française), is a democratic republic with a president in front. The country has since the start of the EU been an active member of the european cooperation, and is with its approximately 67 million inhabitants (2014) the next largest member. The country is a member of G8 and NATO and is one of the five countries in the world with a permanent place in the Security Council of FN.
Legislature: The parliament (Le parlement), which consists of the House of Lords (Le Sénat) and the Lower House (Assemblée Nationale).
Area: 674.843 km2.       Inhabitants: Appr. 67 millions (120 per km2).       GDP: Appr. 2.7 trillions USD.
France is divided into 13 regions in the european part of France. Before the first of January 2016 there were 22 regions. Each region is divided into departements (départements). Each department has a capital (Prèfecture), where the local council is placed. France have 5 overseas regions, which are former colonies.
Click on a region to see its location and the departements. Click on the map to see the departments on maps.
Région: Prèfecture: Departements:
Île-de-France Strasbourg 8
Bretagne Bordeaux 4
Normandie Lyon 5
Hauts-de-France Dijon 5
Grand Est Rennes 10
Pays de la Loire Orléans 5
Centre-Val de Loire Paris 6
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Toulouse 8
Nouvelle-Aquitaine Lille 12
Occitanie Rouen 13
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Nantes 12
Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur Marseille 6
Corse Ajaccio 2
Overseas regions: Prèfecture: Departements:
French Guyana Cayenne 1
Guadeloupe Basse-Terre 1
Martinique Fort-de-France 1
Réunion Saint-Denis 1
Mayotte Mamoudzou 1
The most important french cities
NOTICE: Figures for inhabitants are from 2010. They may have changed.
Click on a name of a city to see it on the map.
City: Inhabitants: Region:
Paris (hovedstad) 2.4 mill. Île-de-France
Marseille 800.000 Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Lyon 500.000 Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Toulouse 460.000 Occitanie
Nice 450.000 Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Nantes 280.000 Pays de la Loire
Strasbourg 280.000 Grand Est
Montpellier 260.000 Occitanie
Lille 250.000 Hauts-de-France
Bordeaux 240.000 Nouvelle-Aquitaine
Rennes 215.000 Bretagne
Reims 200.000 Grand Est
Le Havre 190.000 Normandie
Saint-Étienne 180.000 Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Angers 175.000 Pays de la Loire
Toulon 170.000 Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Grenoble 160.000 Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes
Nîmes 155.000 Occitanie
Aix-en-Provence 155.000 Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
Dijon 150.000 Bourgogne-Franche-Comté
Amiens 145.000 Hauts-de-France
Tours 145.000 Centre-Val de Loire
Orléans 130.000 Centre-Val de Loire